Skip to Contents


Local Busses

The Kii-hanto peninsula covers a large area and includes three prefectures: Wakayama, Mie, and Nara. To service the local population there are many bus companies and sometimes their routes overlap. The bus companies almost always use the same bus stops. The following timetables include all of the companies that run on these routes.

NOTE: Bus timetables and prices are subject to change. Please double-check this page for updates before you travel.

Bus Route Map

The numbers on the map correspond to the bus timetables below. #10 & #14 are not written on this map and are placed in the approximate location.

Note: Multiple routes are sometimes included in one timetable for convenience. For example, #15 includes information from #3, #4, #8, #12, and #13.

Local Bus Timetables

  1. Kii-Tanabe & Shirahama -> Kumano Hongu Taisha
    Busses leaving from Kii-Tanabe make stops at Yunomine Onsen and Kawayu Onsen. This bus route is also important for the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage route with stops at Takijiri-oji and Hosshinmon-oji.
  2. Kumano Hongu Taisha -> Kii-Tanabe & Shirahama
    This route is the opposite from #1. It also makes stops in Kawayu Onsen and Yunomine Onsen.
  3. Shingu -> Kumano Hongu Taisha -> Totsukawa -> Gojo
    This is the longest public bus route in Japan running through the center of the Kii-hanto Penninsula. Stops are also made in Kawayu Onsen and Yunomine Onsen. This bus runs from South to North. Not all of the buses run the entire route, covering only sections.
  4. Gojo -> Totsukawa -> Kumano Hongu Taisha -> Shingu
    This is the reverse of #3 running from North to South. Stops are also made in Kawayu Onsen and Yunomine Onsen. Not all of the buses run the entire route, covering only sections.
  5. Hongu -> Koguchi -> Shingu | Shingu -> Koguchi -> Hongu
    This bus timetable is a compilation of different buses. Koguchi is a small village in the middle of the Ogumotori-goe and Kogumotori-goe Kumano Kodo routes. If you are walking the pilgrimage route this is a good timetable to take with you in case you need to skip a day of walking.
  6. Kii-Tanabe <–> Hongu <–> Hosshinmon-oji
    This timetable is a condensed version focused on access to and from Hosshinmon-oji. A popular trail head of the Kumano Kodo.
  7. Tanabe <–> Ryujin Onsen
    This timetable is for buses running from/to Kii-Tanabe station to/from Ryujin Onsen. For buses between Koyasan and Ryujin Onsen, there is a limited bus that runs from Koyasan to the Hongu area via Ryujin Onsen. (April 1st to November 30th). For more details>>
  8. Kii-Katsuura Station & Nachi Station <–> Nachisan (Nachi Waterfall)
    This bus timetable is for those wanting to visit Kumano Nachi Taisha and Nachi waterfall. Busses stop in both Kii-Katsuura station and Nachi Station. Stops are also made near Daimonzaka, a short but beautiful section of the Kumano Kodo.
  9. Kii-Tanabe Station <–> Shirahama Beach
    This timetable includes both bus and train information for access between Kii-Tanabe and Shirahama.
  10. Kii-Tanabe station <–> Sanyukan Lodge, Mt.Hyakken Valley, Oto Holiday Village, Tomisato Onsen
    This is a community bus route. Reservations are needed at least one day before.
    Busses are not running to Mt.Hyakken. Busses are running to Oto Holiday village and Sanyukan.
  11. Yunomine Onsen <–> Hongu Taisha | Kawayu Onsen <–> Hongu Taisha | Watarase Onsen <–> Hongu Taisha
    This is a condensed, compilation timetable of all of the buses that run between Kumano Hongu Taisha, Yunomine Onsen, Kawayu Onsen, and Watarase Onsen (#1, #2 #3 #4). This is a convenient timetable for those planning to visit sites in the Hongu area.
  12. Shingu Station→Nachi Station→Kii-Katsuura Station
    This bus route runs along the south east coast of the Kii-Hanto peninsula from Shingu city to Nachi-Katsuura town.
  13. Kii-Katsuura Station→Nachi Station→Shingu Station
    This bus route runs is the reverse of #12 and runs along the south east coast of the Kii-Hanto peninsula from Nachi-Katsuura town to Shingu city.
  14. Kushimoto <–> Kashino Todaiguchi (lighthouse), Kushimoto <–> Kushimoto Marine Park
    There are two timetables in this PDF file. One route runs from Kushimoto to the Kashino Todaiguchi lighthouse on Oshima Island off the coast. The other route runs from Kushimoto along the coast to the Kushimoto Marine Park.
  15. Kumano Hongu Taisha | Yunomine Onsen | Kawayu Onsen <–> Shingu <–> Nachi
    This is a condensed, compilation of bus routes #3,#4, #8, #12, and #13. This is an option for those wanting to travel between Kumano Hongu Taisha and Kumano Nachi Taisha. Please note that two transfers are necessary for almost all of the buses, one in Shingu (Gongen-mae) and one at Nachi Station. Gongen-mae is near Kumano Hayatama Taisha, so you can also visit this shrine on your way if you want.
  16. Kumano Hongu Taisha <–> Koyasan via Gojo
    This timetable includes both buses and trains for traveling between Koyasan and Kumano Hongu Taisha. Stops at Yunomine Onsen and Kawayu Onsen are included.
  17. Kumano-shi <–> Kitayama
    This timetable included times to/from JR Kumano-shi train station to the isolated village of Kitayama.

There are seasonal changes in bus schedules and we are trying to keep our data up-to-date. Please confirm times with schedules at bus stops. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Attention Japan Rail Pass Holders: JR busses do not service the route system. Japanese sites, call in Japanese.

Download Bus Line Route Map>>

Bus Prices Charts

Bus Stops

JR Kii-Tanabe station

Bus Stops 1, 2 & 3 are for local busses.  Bus stops 4 and 5 are for highway busses.

Bound for:

  • Ryujin Onsen
  • Koyasan (Transfer at Gomadanzan)

Bound for:

  • Takijiri
  • Kurisugawa
  • Yunomine Onsen
  • Kawayu Onsen
  • Kumano Hongu Taisha
  • Hosshinmon-oji

Bound for:

  • Shirahama Onsen

Bound for:

  • Osaka
  • Kyoto
  • Tokyo

Hayatama Taisha-mae bus stop (Shingu)

Shingu Map PDF >>

Koyasan Busses

From Koyasan station to the village of Koyasan it is necessary to take a local bus.

The bus company in Koyasan is called Nankai Rinkan Bus. On their website is route, price, and how to use information.

Nankai Rinkan Bus website >>

Highway Busses

Highway Express busses are a very inexpensive and easy way to travel to Tanabe and Shirahama. Many people like the freedom offered on trains but this is also a very good economical option.

Osaka to Tanabe/Shirahama Express Bus

Daily express busses between Osaka and Tanabe/Shirahama.

Reservations in English available online >>

Shingu, Katsuura, Kushimoto, etc. ~ Nanki-Shirahama Airport Limousine Bus

Daily express busses between Shingu, Katsuura, Kushimoto, etc. and Nanki-Shirahama Airport.

Pamphlet PDF >>

Page Top